DUI / Driving Under The Influence
On February 1, 2004, Pennsylvania’s enacted DUI laws went into effect. Penalties for General Impairment (BAC .08-.099%) 1st- 3rd offense – Possible twelve (12) month license suspension; up to six (6) months probation or five (5) days to two (2) years in prison; $300.00 to $5,000.00 fine; alcohol highway safety school; treatment when ordered; and possible ignition interlock.Penalties for High Level of Alcohol (BAC .10-.159%) 1st – 3rd offense – Twelve (12) to eighteen (18) month license suspension; forty-eight (48) consecutive hours to five (5) years in prison; $500.00 to $10,000.00 fine; possible alcohol highway safety school; treatment when ordered; possible ignition interlock.Penalties for Highest Level of Alcohol (BAC .16 & above) – Twelve (12) to eighteen (18) month license suspension; seventy-two (72) consecutive hours to five (5) years in prison; minimum fine of $1,000.00; possible alcohol highway safety school; treatment when ordered; and possible ignition interlock.

Penalties for minors at BAC of .02-.159% is treated the same as Penalties for High Level of Alcohol for adults; and BAC of .16% and above is treated the same as Penalties for Highest Level of Alcohol for adults.

Penalties for Drivers of Commercial Vehicles (CDL) at BAC of .04 – .159% treated the same as Penalties for High Level of Alcohol for adults; and BAC of .16% and above is treated the same as Penalties for Highest Level of Alcohol for adults.

Drivers of School Vehicles are treated the same as Drivers of Commercial Vehicles with the BAC limit starting at .02%.

Click here http://www.dmv.org/pa-pennsylvania/automotive-law/dui.php to review the Pennsylvania DUI Legislation.